BC Trappers Association BC Trappers Association
BC Trappers Association

Trapper Education

BC Trapper Education Program

The BC Trapper Education course, which must be successfully completed to qualify a person for a trapping license, is given at a particular location when there is sufficient demand. The course takes approximately 21 hours (three full days, usually Friday through Sunday), which includes instruction, demonstration, student participation, and a written exam. Successful completion is based on participation and exam results. The course is designed primarily for students aged 14 years and older. Younger students (minimum 12 years) can be accommodated only if accompanied by a parent or guardian who is also taking the course.

Course cost, which includes a manual and a one year membership in the BC Trappers Association, is $450 (18 years and older), and $350 for youths (12-17 years). For further information and to register interest in taking the course, contact the instructor (see list below) closest to your residence location.

BCTA Trapper Education Instructors:

Instructors Region 1

Marty Wells, Region 7, Fort Nelson, 250-500-4352, marty@backcountryservices.com

Instructors Region 2

Tim Killey, Surrey BC, 604-968-4772, t.t.killey@gmail.com

Instructors Region 4

Frank Rad, Cranbrook BC, 250-426-7234, rad4@shaw.ca

Instructors Region 5

Paul Blackwell, Lac La Hache BC, 250-396-7286, pblackwell63@hotmail.com

Stuart Maitland, Horsefly BC, 250-620-5587, old_stu@eurekapeak.com

Bob Thurow, 150 Mile House BC, 250-296-4256, bandmthurow@gmail.com

Instructors Region 6

George Noth, Southbank BC, 250-694-3360, cindymaylaviolette@hotmail.com

Instructors Region 7

Carl Gitscheff, Dawson Creek BC, 250-719-8260, cowboy@pris.ca

Bryan Monroe, McBride BC, 250-569-2279, bryan.monroe@hotmail.com

Allen Ray, Fort Fraser BC, 250-690-7204, hallettlakeoutfitters@hotmail.com

Wayne Sharpe, Prince George BC, 250-561-1602, msharpe@shawcable.com

Instructors Region 8

Ron Lancour, Kelowna BC, 250-868-3350, trap-r@shaw.ca

Pete Wise, Vernon BC, 250-545-8881, pmwise@telus.net


Fish and Wildlife Branch

BC Trappers Association BC Trappers Association